HomeAbout usHistory and mission of the office

History and mission of the office


The Railway Authority was established by Act No. 266/1994 Coll., on Railways (hereafter referred to as the "Railway Act") of 1 January 1995. From the very beginning, the Authority was regarded as an administrative authority that would carry out state administration in the area tracks. Its seat was established in Prague (the seat is in the northern part of the historical Fanta building of Prague's main railway station). In addition, regional workplaces were established in Prague, Brno, Ostrava, Pilsen, Olomouc, Ústí nad Labem, Hradec Králové, Břeclav, Žatec and Letohrad. Currently, only three regional unions operate, namely in Prague, Pilsen and Olomouc. The number of employees gradually decreased due to reorganizations (for example, in 2004, 134 employees worked at the office, currently 113 people work here in various positions).

Since its inception, the Railway Authority has dealt with railways, trams, trolleybuses, cable cars and special (metro) railways.

Since 2015, when the Civil Service Act came into force, the Railway Authority has become one of the many state institutions that bear the designation of civil service office.

Since its inception, the office has been headed by several directors. The first director of the Railway Office was Jaroslav Vrána, who was replaced by Tomáš Stone. After his dismissal, Miroslav Dvořák was temporarily entrusted with the management of the office. The longest-serving director of the Railway Office was Pavel Kody, who was replaced by Jiří Hanuš after ten years in office in 2013 based on the decision of the then Transport Minister Zdenek Žák. Jiří Hanuš headed the office for 10 months. Subsequently, Jiří Kolář was appointed to this post, who defended his position in the selection process on 1 April 2016 and again as part of the amendment to the Civil Service Act in 2023, when he was appointed to the position on 1 August 2023 by State Secretary Mgr. Martin Vavřina.

Mission of the office

The office's activities are determined by relevant legal regulations (especially the Act on Railways and its implementing decrees). The main mission is to maintain and increase the safety of the operation of individual railways. His tasks include in particular: